Wolf Prize in Agriculture
Read Online

Wolf Prize in Agriculture

  • 247 Want to read
  • ·
  • 79 Currently reading

Published by World Scientific in Singapore, Hackensack, NJ .
Written in English

Book details:

Edition Notes

Includes bibliographical references.

Statementedited by Ilan Chet
LC ClassificationsS415 .W65 2009
The Physical Object
Paginationxiv, 1143 p. :
Number of Pages1143
ID Numbers
Open LibraryOL24575133M
ISBN 109812835849
ISBN 109789812835840
LC Control Number2009279100

Download Wolf Prize in Agriculture


Get this from a library! Wolf Prize in Agriculture. [Ilan Chet;] -- "This specially compiled, one-of-a-kind volume contains exemplary contributions from Wolf Prize laureates in agriculture. There is no higher prize than the Wolf Prize. Thus, the reader has the. Laureates of Wolf Prize in Arts and Sciences were announced. Wolf Prize in Chemistry will be granted to Professor Robert.G. Bergman from Berkley university in California, USA – For the discovery of the activation of C-H bonds of hydrocarbons by soluble transition metal complexes.. Wolf Prize in Mathematics will be shared by two laureates: Professor Richard Schoen from Stanford. In agriculture, there is no higher prize than the Wolf Prize. Thus, the reader has the opportunity to learn from the very top in various aspects of this field. Indeed, the book includes a list of publications and the most important papers in plant and animal breeding, genetics, biochemistry and plant protection, biotechnology, as well as. Since , five to six Wolf prizes have been awarded annually in the Sciences. Prize fields comprise: Agriculture, Chemistry, Mathematics, Medicine and Physics. In the Arts, the prize rotates annually among Architecture, Painting, and Sculpture.

The Wolf Prize for agriculture is awarded to Prof. David Zilberman from University of California at Berkeley Wolf Prize in Architecture The Wolf Prize for . Animal Agriculture: Sustainability, Challenges and Innovations discusses the land-based production of high-quality protein by livestock and poultry and how it plays an important role in improving human nutrition, growth and health. With exponential growth of the global population and marked rises in meat consumption per capita, demands for animal-source protein are expected to increase 72%.   In addition to agriculture, the Wolf Prize is given in chemistry, mathematics, medicine, physics and the arts. Past recipients of the prize include Stephen Hawking and Peter Higgs. Saif, who works in the College of Veterinary Medicine's Department of Veterinary Preventive Medicine, is the first Ohio State scientist and the first woman to. Harris A. Lewin. Harris Lewin, Vice Chancellor for Research, holder of the Robert and Rosabel Osborne Endowed Chair and Distinguished Professor of Evolution and Ecology, was one of two recipients worldwide of the Wolf Prize in Among other contributions, he is known for his pioneering work in mapping the bovine genome, leading to important consequences for animal and human health.

The prize is awarded in Israel by the Wolf Foundation, founded by Dr Ricardo Wolf, a German-born inventor and former Cuban ambassador to Israel. It is awarded in six fields: Agriculture, Chemistry, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics, and an Arts prize. The Wolf Prize is awarded to outstanding scientists and artists, “for achievement in the interest of mankind and friendly relations among peoples.” The annual prizes of $, are given in four out of five scientific fields in rotation: Agriculture, Chemistry, Mathematics, Medicine and Physics.   The Red Wolf's Prize by Regan Walker is a publication. I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Has anyone else been wondering what happened to Medieval romance?4/5. The Wolf Prize in Agriculture will go to Sir David Baulcombe of Cambridge University for research on "gene silencing", a means by which plants defend themselves from viruses.